Jeremy Sugarman, M.D., M.P.H., M.A., the Harvey M. Meyerhoff Professor of Bioethics and Medicine at the Berman Institute of Bioethics and the Department of Medicine at Johns Hopkins University, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM), an organization that serves as an independent adviser to the nation to improve health.

Dr. Sugarman is an internationally recognized leader in the field of biomedical ethics, especially the ethics of research with human beings. He has particular expertise in the application of empirical methods and evidence-based standards for the evaluation and analysis of bioethical issues.

He has made seminal contributions to both medical ethics and public policy. This includes his work on the ethics of informed consent, umbilical cord blood banking, stem cell research, international HIV prevention research, and research oversight.

He recently brought a keen empirical and analytical lens to financial conflicts of interest in research. In particular, he examined the utility of disclosure as a means of managing financial conflicts of interest through a project called COINS (Conflict of Interest Notification Study). His research team systematically addressed the relevant issues, creating model disclosure language, and testing it.

Dr. Sugarman is currently chair for the Ethics Working Group of the HIV Prevention Trials Network and the ethics officer for the Resuscitation Outcomes Consortium, which is conducting a series of research projects involving trauma and cardiac arrest using an exemption from the requirement to obtain consent. In these roles, Dr. Sugarman provides advice to research teams in real time.

Dr. Sugarman is also a member of the American Society of Clinical Investigation and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American College of Physicians and the Hastings Center.

Each year, 65 individuals around the country who have been elected by current members of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) are offered membership. Renowned for its research program, the IOM is an honorific organization whose members donate their time to put their knowledge and expertise to work for the nation’s health.

Members are elected for their excellence and professional achievement in a field relevant to the IOM’s mission, and for their willingness to participate actively in its work. These individuals represent not only the health care professions, but also the natural, social and behavioral sciences—as well as law, administration, engineering and the humanities.

Ruth R. Faden, Ph.D., M.P.H., Director of the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics and the Philip Franklin Wagley Professor of Biomedical Ethics, was elected to the IOM in 1984. Nancy Kass, Sc.D., Deputy Director for Public Health at the Berman Institute and the Phoebe R. Berman Professor of Bioethics and Public Health, was elected to the IOM in 2008.

Election to the IOM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

Established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the IOM has become recognized as a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on health issues.

2 people like this post.


Leave a Reply